Monday, September 30, 2013

NC Week 7

So I just now realized, that hey! i gotta write my family!

My pinky is literally sore but im going to tough it out for the good of the team. 
So this week, jeez i really need to start taking notes when things happen, the time goes by here so fast that i dont even have time to think. But the high light that i can think of happened on saturday night after Hermana Martinez fed us sooo much food!!! literally when she was walking over i was like, weird, how are we going to get that all of the plate for everyone, and then she handed it to me.... ha this little kid had to pack down six taquitos and a mountain of lettuce. and i had to make the conscious decision that i like avacado cause she was quite liberal with that stuff.. ha. so we were waddling back to the car when we looked up the street and saw two black kids playin basketball. and my comp loves playin and he shot me a look like " you down" so i grunted and we waddled up there instead. and then it was game time!

It was so fun! they were talkin so much smack, like if they lost to two white boys it shirt and tie, what they would do and all that. well we worked the first two. they quit. then the older brother came up and was like ok lets play. so he was playing with his little brother, and we beat them too. Well then we looked over at this house and out walks this kid, gym shorts and warm ups, and Big Bro calls him over to teach us how to play. haha Tyreke Day. Even sounds good doesnt he! well he was. that game was a battle and we won 7-6. it was really fun. We had a total blast playin em, we actually saw two of them as we were working in the trailer parks yesterday, they both waved at us as we drove past. 

Im getting really good at soccer. i mean granted, i am comparing that to like ten year old kids, but theyre hispanic kids so i think that translates to about a thirty year old Gringo. right? but yeah its really fun. just playin in the streets and trailer parks with em. It is really hard to get lessons out of soccer though. cause basketball its way easier, but soccer is kinda tough. 

But as far as investigators go... we are doing a LOT of finding. i made some flyers for our english classes and we are putting those up in the trailer parks where they all get their mail. so that will be good. but we have basically one investigator and her family that we are working with. Her name is Socorro(which means relief, literally sociedad de Socorro is relief society) but then her two kids, Betsy and Jose. they are really legit. we met em, taught them the next day, and the next day was sunday and they came to church. that was all about three our four weeks ago. well then we couldnt get her to come back. and she is about the busiest lady ever so we could never meet. well finally we found a time to go over and were talking and turns out that of course someone offended her. So we tried our best to fix that mess. which i really think we did. then we met with her and Jose on saturday and were able to commit them to baptism. which they accepted for the 19 of October. well then on sunday they didnt show up again!!!! so that negated them from becoming a bapt date. so yeah. Confusing. but we are working on resolving all of that deal. its like a puzzle but you cant see the pieces or even find where the pieces are in the house... haha. keepin fun. 

We did meet one family that i am determined to convert. literally she would be awesome in the primary. Shes SOOOOO happy!!!! i dont know how but she is and her son is way cool. but yeah. they are the new project. that is if i dont get transferred, which is a very real possibility. normally we shoulda known yesterday, but for some reason our president wants us to get good at speed packing. so that will be fun:) I will let you all know where i end up as soon as i know. 

Thats about all i have for this week. 
Les quiero mucho y estoy muy agradecido por todas las cosas que han hecho. 
Gracias Mi Familia Hermosa

Elder Whitaker   

No comments:

Post a Comment