Feb 10, 2014
this was a really
weird week. ha well only one day was what made it weird.
so we were walking
down the street, ha this story... ok, so we were walking and this guy ahead of
us was sweeping. well when he looked up and saw us he grabbed the broom all
weird and started talking to himself.... straight up i was getting ready for a
throw down=) but we kept walking towards him and when we got close... he hit my
comp in the face.
haha kidding. no he
was like super nice. we was pretty handicapped but he was happy and stuff, i
assume, he talked weird so i couldnt understand too well. but he started to
shake my comps hand, and then kept shaking it, and shaking, literally like 30
seconds. you could cut the awkward with a spoon. well then it was my turn. so i
shook his hand. well i dont know if you guys know this, but down here it is a custom
to do that italian kiss the cheeks. ha well thank heavens i was tall cause he
went up on his tippy toes and said da me un beso. basically touch your cheek to
mine. hahahaha!!! i was like na bro, chao, we will talk later, all that. so i
tried to leave and he held me there. and let the record show that i tried to
avoid this!!!!! but yeah....... a guy kissed my cheek..... IT WAS AWFUL!!!!!
hahahaha i walked away like i got shot. my comp and i laughed for two full
blocks. it was hilarious but just about the worst experience of my life. hahaha
but i made it through and came out the other side a stronger man hahaha =)
uh. man that was
seriously the worst.
oh so basically a lot
investigators bailed. Victor, the coolish one with three kids, yeah he is gone.
i dont get people. why dont they just tell us that they arent down anymore and
we dont need to come back. we got there and he faked sick and was fake
sneezing, really it was funny but yeah. then we got home and looked at our
phone to see that like a half hour before we got there he sent us a message for
us not to come cause he was going to a wedding. haha alright dude. but thats
fine.
uh, mabel, she got
mad, she just hates men. haha funny stories there. but yeah. oh she also got
mad at us cause we helped her wash her car but we did it incorrectly. hahaha
seriously i dont know
what it is but the funniest things that have happened to me on my mission are
when people try to shut us down or just yell at us. frankly i love it. its so
funny. still having a lot of firsts so thats keeping it fun=)
oh. but in all this we
found a diamond in the coal mine. so when i got here we visited a guy who is
living with a member. rodrigo. he told us that he wanted an answer but really
just didnt want to do anything to get one. well we decided to go by a couple
days ago. and o my gooness. We found him with the Bible, Book of Mormon, and
Gospel Principles books open on the table marking, writing, going crazy. it was
awesome!!! he wants to get baptized and is totally sure. but we gotta get them
married. so we are going to literally go with them to the offices to do it all
and get him in the water as soon as possible before this whole excitement goes
away. but yeah.
and we found a sweet
family. they are doing well. but i am doing good. my comp is cool. we laugh a
lot. yesterday we contacted a fool and it was a blast.
having fun.
Love you all.
keep the pics a comin
Elder Whitaker