Wednesday, February 18, 2015

Bryce's companion's letter to his mom. Elder Clayton

Diane Clayton (Elder Clayton's mother)

Attachments12:25 PM (11 hours ago)
16 Feb 2015
Thank you for your email!! I actually received it before Colter's and it was wonderful to know he was given a good companion to train with. It definitely makes a mom feel more at ease. I loved being able to read Bryce's also. I felt like I received two letters that day. What a treat! They sound like they are going to do great things together. 

Here is what Colter wrote:

"My companion is great!! He is really good! We are having a lot of success here. My trainer/companion is Elder Whitaker. He is from Spanish Fork. I live with 2 other American Elders but my companion and another one have perfect Spanish!! Elder Hill, not my companion, but in the same pench (apartment) as me is like a walking dictionary he helps the Argentines with their Spanish haha. The president was really nice. The toads here are huge, huge cockroaches, huge ants and other bugs, million cats, if I had a penny for every dog I saw I’d be a millionaire haha they are everywhere. I’m in San Cristóbal a little tiny town at the top of my mission, very top!! Everyone is very poor here and we teach outside so I don’t have dog allergy problems. We don’t eat with the members because they have no money so I eat oatmeal, rice and pasta. Only a little breakfast and a big lunch is what we have. It’s good because I can lose the weight I gained in the MTC. The picture I’ll send you was my first asado we made today and it was good! I get a little meat here too but I can’t say I’ve had good food yet. Alfajores are pretty good actually the oreo ones are really good!!! I can’t wait to try them with peanut butter. I’m baptizing a lady in a few days, but I’m having major problems... Spanish... oh it’s just terrible for me. I can’t understand anything people are saying, castellano is terrible, all the "y" make a shhh sound. For ayer    they say   asher   and they call gringos yankees but it’s pronouced  shankees Dad will show you how to say those, but it’s bad. My companion has to do everything because I have no clue what’s going on. Branch council meeting (we just have a little branch here in this town and Elder Hill is the president) was horrible!! I couldn’t understand anything that was going on. Spanish is really hard for me to learn and it’s not good because I have to learn so I can actually teach! but the kids here are cute! cute little kids talking in their Spanish voices. We have a nice little town and there’s not that much bad stuff but everything is just filthy here! The people are way lazy too. The siesta is from like noon to 6 pm and we can’t do anything then because everyone is sleeping and the ones that are not are late and going to sleep and if there is a rare one not taking the siesta they get really mad if we bug them during the siesta. All of our lessons push to like 12:30 or start at 5:30 so we can get effective time. Yeah the culture here is a lot different! We walk like 5 miles a day. Have some big blisters that are callusing up though and I’ll have some tough feet here pretty soon!! Soda is way better here. There are no good vegetables here though like cold cucumbers and that stuff! Good quality vegetables are what I’m going to start missing real soon! Yeah there’s a good chance I could train one of my friends. They’re going to be sending a lot of people to my mission…like 200 in the next year because it’s splitting. I hope everything is okay and it rains soon at home. It hasn’t even rained here yet and it doesn’t rain here as much as I thought, but it’s pretty humid all day! I love you all!! I can’t say I’m doing good because no entiendo nada pero, I better start learning faster because it’s horrible not being able to understand what people are saying and they don’t even speak that fast here haha."

I'm excited to hear more next week. 

Thanks again!! :)

Monday, February 16, 2015

BAUTISMO!!!!!!

16 Feb 2015

so we are going to have another baptism this week. so we are pumped. 

ADELMA is getting baptized. she is amazing. she is bearing testimony now to everyone. she was at first scared to let any one know that she is getting baptized here, cause before she was a lady that taught the class of how to be a catholic. =) =) well she is now talking about it with everyone=) she is incredible. we shared lucas 9 59 through 62 with her and said that even when it is hard the lord knows that the best thing for us is always following him as soon as we can. and it got to her. she made the decision to get baptized!! we are happy. 

i also forgot to tell you that i am training again!!!! and my comp is going to baptize adelma!!!!! wont even have a full week in the mission and is already going to baptize some one=) he is nervous but we are going to be practicing it a lot this week. 

his name is elder clayton from hurricane, hes a really cool kid, really anxious to learn and baptize the whole world and we are going to do just that. =) 

Rita y Andrea came to church!!!!!!!!!!! i was sorta expecting Rita, but Andrea had every excuse in the world not to come, she got operated majorly like two weeks ago, but she hobbled on in there at the beginning of sacrament!!!!!! so thats great. Rita will be baptized soon, pray that she will just make the firm decision. she is going to do it but she needs to make the commitment ahead of time so we can plan everything, its complicated but just pray that the lord will prepare the way. 

we are havin a lot of fun. the mission is a total blast. training an american is a total different story than training a latino. but really fun both ways. i am learning a lot of things about spanish just cause he keeps asking about everything!!! hahaha but i am havin fun. 

picking him up was an adventure, i got up at 130 and headed out, on the ride there my taxi driver ended up being a MA that had just moved here, got to Rosario at 730 AM and went to the mission home. long story short, we got home at 1215 am the next day..... hahaha yay. 

but i really do love what im doing. its a total blast. 

love you guys
take luck





pics of pickin up the new guy=)

Tuesday, February 10, 2015

BAUTI..... wait for it.... SMO!!!!!!!!!!!!

10 February 2015

So thanks to your prayers, Alejandro Barbero was baptized this Sunday=)
we are starting to see a lot of progress in the whole family. one of the less active sisters is now talking to us about how she can serve a mission, and they are reading the book of mormon a lot more. =)

now, we need your help with the mom of the family. that she will just have the urge to follow her kids, she works all day, the only day she has off issunday, but really wants to just rest. so we need the Spirit to really go to work on her. that she can read the book of mormon with her kids when she can and come to church. she wanted to be baptized a few years ago but was living with someone and didnt want to get married. but has since gotten separated and is now able to do it. just needs a little help.
also, pray for Rita y andrea. Rita doesnt want to be baptized until her daughter is ok again. Andrea had a surgery a coulpe weeks ago and Rita just wants her to be ok before doing anything. we just need the Lord to clear the way and let her do what she needs to do. Lucas 9:59-62
and please for Adelma. she is a champ. =) last week the Testigos, i mean the jehovas witnesses came by her house and she straight up bore testimony to them that this is the true church and that she feels a lot better talking to us than to any of them. =) she reads every day. all of it. totally a stud. but... she also wants to fix her life a little more, and wants to have all her kids be ok with it and be there when she gets baptized. well contacting all of them and organizing a day for it to work is a joke. so once again. we really need the lord to work in her heart and show her the importance. that if everyone can be there, fantastic, but also, we cant postpone months until we figure out a day.. =)
my cases for my scriptures are awesome!!!!!!!!!!! they came on wednesday!!! so cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i taught the gospel priniples class on sunday about the sacrament. and it really changed a lot of my attitude towards the sacrament. it was an article in the june 2014 liahona, i dont know if it will be the same in english. but its called oh it is wonderful, asombro me da. but it was amazing. i had one of the neatest sacrament meetings of my life. probably the best one yet. just watching them break the bread and imagining the Roman soldiers and all the things that they did to him before his sacrifice. and right when i was about to eat the bread i was thinking, but who is it that put the nail?? and then i bit it and realized that he took the nails for each of us, that we are the ones that put the nails in his hands but he did it so that we can now repent and be better tomorrow.

i invite all of you to really imagine and think about what Christ did for us this Sunday as you are taking the sacrament, make it real. You will feel it, i promise.

Elder Whitaker

Monday, February 2, 2015

Solid Week


   February 2, 2015
first, who was the first person to be baptized in our family tree, and whats the whole story behind that.
and i need ideas for activities to do, we have to teach the primary, basically nursery. we have kids from 4 to 11 years old in there and i really need activities to keep them all busy and entertained for two hours. we dont really have a lot of resources here, so primarly drawing stuff, or games with just your body, like simon says or sit in a circle and do something. things like that just super super simple and something that will grab their attention. =) that would really help us out a lot.
ok so now...... story time=)
so we had our zone meeting these weekend, and wow, super rough. we got up at 430, got ready and went to the bus stop. got there at 9 and!!! i had a package, no mom, yours has not come. it was from my last comp. i opened it up. it was wrapped like a missionary would do it, double bagged in plastic bags and then, the gift itself, wrapped in old socks.. hahahaha but the item of interest.. AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I FINALLY GOT MY LICENSE PLATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
i have been looking for an argentina license plate my whole mission, and my last comp found one, remembered that we had talked about it, and sent it up to me=) what a stud no?? i was so pumped. its awesome!!!!!
we also found this fruit at the house of a member, the same where we cleared an acre with a machete, well we went back for a visit and she gave us a fruit from a cactus called tuna. soooo gooood!!! apparently they are called prickly pears, i dont know. but they are glorious. you have to take the skin and the spines off and they eat this little ball thats inside. but its is so worth it. and cold or almost frozen, wow.
love that stuff.
we had 2 people in church this week. but we are having complications. they are due to be baptized this saturday but now all of a sudden the mom is saying that they are catholics and shouldnt do it. even though she investigated the church forever, and would have gotten baptized 7 years ago had her boyfriend not denied to be married. bummer. but of her 7 kids, 4 are baptized. so i dont see whats up. so really pray for familia Barbero.
adelma is a CHAMP she is for sure getting baptized. we are just going slow and letting her figure out the date cause she wants all her kids there. so we are really pumped about her. she is the sweeteest lady ever. i swear. i only get to baptize old people or kids, haha my goal is still baptize a family that has a son of about 17-18 that will go on a mission. =) go for gold no?
but im havin a blast. next week is tranfers so we will talk on tuesday. it is probable that my comp leaves. so i will let you know.

love you guys.
workin hard and lovin the heck out of this=) 
Elder Whitaker

--
Elder Whitaker
Mision Argentina Rosario
7935 Blv Argentino
Rosario Santa Fe 2000